Monday, 29 April 2013

The PFA came under fire last week for its refusal to withdraw Suarez
from the Player of the Year shortlist after he bit Branislav Ivanovic
during Liverpool's game against the Blues at Anfield.
In a room full of fellow professionals and other guests at the
Grosvenor Hotel in Mayfair, central London, where the awards were
handed out, the controversial Uruguayan's name was booed on two
separate occasions.
The first time came when he was named in the team of the year, and
secondly when his name was read out on the shortlist for Player of the
Year, in which he finished second behind Gareth Bale.
Suarez, who has scored 23 goals in the league this year, received an
eight-match ban for racially abusing Manchester United defender
Patrice Evra last season. Suarez was the only Liverpool player named
in the team of the year.
Premier League top scorer Robin van Persie was one of four Manchester
United players to be included in the XI. Van Persie, who moved to Old
Trafford from Arsenal last summer, has scored 25 goals so far this
term to help United win their 20th Premier League title.

No comments:

Post a Comment